Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 Longest Kill Shot w/ Shotgun? >

Longest Kill Shot w/ Shotgun?

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Longest Kill Shot w/ Shotgun?

Old 09-20-2006, 04:35 AM
Typical Buck

Default Longest Kill Shot w/ Shotgun?

Now, as I'm still a newbie to the world of turkey hunting (anxiously awaiting my first hunt), I'm curious to what the longest distance is that you've killed a turkey with a shotgun?

I've been patterning mine at distances of 20 to 60 yards. I've noticed a severe dropoff in shot going into the target around 50 yards (as I would have expected).

I don't want to be overly gunho and try to knock off a turkey at too far of a distance. So, all input is greatly appreciated.

Thanks....

Old 09-20-2006, 06:45 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Longest Kill Shot w/ Shotgun?

40 is my MAX, if i cant get em closer than that i dont deserve to get em......
Old 09-20-2006, 06:48 AM

I have killed them at 5 feet but my longest shot was probably 30 yards
Old 09-20-2006, 09:15 AM
Nontypical Buck

I've killed cripples to far to mention and wounded a few because I misjudjed the distance.40 yards or preferrably closer is the ethical choice.Glad to see your patterning your gun,the paper doesn't lie,take the info you have there and apply it in the woods and you wont overstretch your guns capabilties...Bob
Old 09-20-2006, 03:39 PM
Nontypical Buck