Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 When and how did you first get hooked? >

When and how did you first get hooked?

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

When and how did you first get hooked?

Old 01-19-2006, 09:32 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default When and how did you first get hooked?

I'm fairly new to turkey hunting even though I have taken several on my property. I have always been a big deer and duck hunter. I have always had turkeys on my property but had little interest in hunting them. Five years ago I vowed to become a serious turkey hunter. I killed a 20 pounder that opening day and I became hooked. Now it's a passion. I even went to Texas last spring and killed a couple of Rios and plan on going back. Nobody introduced me to turkey hunting. I did it myself. I guess this iswhy I took so long to get into it. Man, I am glad I did. I just wish I would have done it earlier. How long did it take to bag your first longbeard? Only 65 days til opening day, in La. anyway.
Old 01-19-2006, 09:53 AM

Default RE: When and how did you first get hooked?

My dad introduced me to it. I remember him having several of his friends over and they'd sit around and mess with calls and talk turkey, tell of hunts past etc. I started going with Dad when I was about 8 or 9 years old, and killed my first(spring gobbler) when I was 15....a 19.5 lb gobbler that roosted behind my girlfriends(then) house....needless to say, I skipped school the next morning.
Old 01-19-2006, 02:06 PM
Nontypical Buck