Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 New To Turkey, Cant Call....... >

New To Turkey, Cant Call.......

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

New To Turkey, Cant Call.......

Old 12-16-2005, 06:35 AM

Default New To Turkey, Cant Call.......

I am new to turkey hunting. I have NO idea how to call them in. I have a couple different mouth calls and a crow call. Thats it. I hear that a lot of people prefer the box and slate calls. My question: Is there a CD or DVD that I can purchase to learn. If so, can anybody reccomend one in particular?? Or is anybody selling one??
Old 12-16-2005, 07:36 AM

Default RE: New To Turkey, Cant Call.......

Go to your local sporting goods store, WalMart, etc and get you a box call and a tape to listen to. You'll be calling in gobblers before you know it.

Hal
Old 12-16-2005, 04:56 PM
Nontypical Buck

There's a lot more to Turkey hunting other then Calling. Calling is good to get to know the basics and you can do that with a tape. Most call companies have tapes/cd's to lern the basics , or a Call lerning Video would do aswell.

You maybe best to show up at some shows and sit in on some seminars aswell. This will help you with Woodsman ship and calling and tricks that can be used to out smart that Ol Longbeard.

As for turkey hunting Calling is only one part that needs to be touched...BT
Old 12-16-2005, 05:12 PM
Super Moderator

I would recommend a push button to start off with. Then to a slate or box call then on to the mouth calls. There are many different cds and dvds on the market to help you learn how to call. Go to your sporting goods store. A crow call is ok but you also need and owl hoot or a coyote call for early morning before sun up if you want to locate turkeys on the roost.
Old 12-16-2005, 07:32 PM