Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 Question about fall gobblers >

Question about fall gobblers

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Question about fall gobblers

Old 12-15-2005, 10:25 PM

Default Question about fall gobblers

I consider myself a fairly good turkey hunter, above average even. Keep in mind I said turkey, let me clarify.

I have the patience, know-how, and call technique down pat, (well pretty good). Not tooting my own horn but I have some experience. My girlfriend's dad always seem to get a couple gobblers each fall. That is his specialty. He calls nothing but gobblers in. I call a gobbler (TOM) in on occasion but it is not a guaranteed thing. I guess I could say hens and jakes are my specialty.

That brings me to my question. What are the best techniques for calling in only mature gobblers? I use a slate call and call sparingly, not alot at all. I do a few clucks and throw in a purr w/ them. I wonder if its the tone of my slate? What do you guys think? Any suggestions?

Remember this is fall hunting only.
Old 12-16-2005, 05:04 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Question about fall gobblers

Remember Fall Gobbler calling is different from Spring. In the spring season your imitating hens. The pitch of Hens will change from bird to bird.

In the Fall to call gobblers when they are grouped up in Gobbler flocks you need to get Lower Corser Gobbler talk. The Gobbler yelp is only a couple of Corse Yelps sometimes only One. They aswell will Cluck and they only do this a couple times aswell. Not very often will they purr but this is something that hens do on more of a regular bases.

Setting up on Travel routes of the traveling gobbler flock will produce more Gobblers in the fall then all the Calling one can do...BT
Old 12-17-2005, 04:58 AM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: Adrian J Hare