Community
Traditional Muzzleloading Forum Firearm Types open for discussion: Pre-Flintlock, Flintlock, & Side-lock Percussion. Smoothbores, Muskets, Rifles, Shotguns, Pistols & BP Revolvers, only

Patch question

Old 01-27-2017, 09:15 PM
Spike

Default Patch question

I am new to this game and have been trying to figure out what I want to do for lube and patches. I generally understand the patch thickness and the various lubes and will find what works best for me. I see some folks use pre-cut round patches, lubed fabric they cut with a knife, pre-cut square patches and even a video of a fellow using a strip of fabric cut part way so square patches tear off easily. What is the advantage/ disadvantages for starting out?
Old 01-28-2017, 12:29 AM
Dominant Buck

Starting out, I think most of us used pre cut patches. Then as we got more into the sport we began to experiment and try different things. I personally cut my patch at the muzzle. That way I always get a perfect centered patch. Also its cheaper, and if you get pre lubed, pre cut patches, and your not an avid shooter, they can and will go sour on you sometimes. I can remember when I had pre cut lubed patches stored in a Tupperware bowl one time. I finally wanted them, opened the bowl and about dropped over from the stink.

Also pre cut, pre lubed patches begin to basically decompose with time. And if they get old you get more tearing and over char when you load and shoot them. Old patches will blow apart when you shoot them.

When I load I start with clean and unlubed 100% cotton pillow tick. A simple cloth purchased at Wal Mart in bulk. Right before shooting I can add the lube of my choice and then load patch and ball. Everything if fresh and the cloth is nice and strong.

Good luck.
Old 01-28-2017, 04:25 AM
Boone & Crockett