Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
 wood selection for your bow >

wood selection for your bow

Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

wood selection for your bow

Old 03-14-2005, 10:10 PM

Default wood selection for your bow

hey I want to have a custom long bow made by centaur, currently known as selway.
i talked to jim the guy that builds them, he said i could have it custom made with whatever
wood i wanted, i am new to the traditional world, and i want a wood for the riser and limbs that
will be a beautiful looking bow, really appealing and also have some great performance
so what woods would you reccomend that could do this?
Old 03-15-2005, 08:33 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: wood selection for your bow

What do you like? Dark wood or light wood? Or something in the middle? Go to www.recurves.com (ChekMate bows) and www.tradstore.com/woodshed/ and look at the woods that are available. Naturally both sites have a lot of the same woods, but each has something the other doesn't. ChekMate has some really eyepopping veneers that they can put over limb corewoods.

Some of my favorite riser woods are Bolivian Rosewood, bocote, cocobolo, tulipwood, zebrawood, kingwood, wenge and ziricote. I like bloodwood, purpleheart, osage and padauk accent woods for color contrast. Face cut red elm, yew, and osage make nice looking limbs under clear glass. Osage starts out a bright yellow and mellows with exposure to the sun to a deep honey color. Or you can have veneers put over whatever limb core woods you choose, ChekMate has some stuff called waterfall bubinga that I think is to die for. Or you can go with black or brown glass over just about any kind of core wood. They say that colored glass gives slightly better performance than clear glass, but I'm not so sure.

Best thing to do is ask the bowyer what limb core woods he'd recommend to give the best performance for his design at your draw length.