Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
New here. Need a bit of help on longbow I made. >

New here. Need a bit of help on longbow I made.

Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

New here. Need a bit of help on longbow I made.

Old 07-06-2014, 03:03 PM
Spike

Question New here. Need a bit of help on longbow I made.

Hey guys,

So I am new to making bows, but not shooting them. My first bow came out horrible, but I just made a new one that is very excellent and strong out of a maple sapling. There is only one problem for me with the bow: I cannot pull it back all the way, because I am not that strong and the draw weight is quite high, just not sure what it is exactly. Bottom line, I need help with the draw weight. What can i do to lessen it on this homemade traditional longbow?

Thanks guys!
Old 07-07-2014, 05:03 AM
Fork Horn

Default draw waight

I never built my own bow, but I think they go back and shave the limbs and the tiller. Don't worry, there will be some forum member that will know for sure. Good luck.
Old 07-07-2014, 07:43 AM
LBR
Boone & Crockett

It's a matter of removing wood--in the right amounts in the right places. There are several good books and videos on making selfbows. I'm not much help-only made one myself, and that was with a lot of "adult supervision".
Old 07-09-2014, 01:26 PM
Spike

Sorry to this site, Archerdude if you go stickbow.com tradidtional leather wall forum there are a lot guys on there who make there own bows. Or pick up a copy of the bent stick by paul comstock. Good luck, and shoot straight

Last edited by bootleger; 07-09-2014 at 01:32 PM.
Old 07-23-2014, 06:13 AM
Boone & Crockett