Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
got me a bow! (help needed) >

got me a bow! (help needed)

Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

got me a bow! (help needed)

Old 08-10-2011, 01:30 PM
Typical Buck

Default got me a bow! (help needed)

Well my dads friends who is in his late 80's gave me his Bear Kodiak Hunter. is this a good bow? it says its 45 lb but it doesnt say at what draw length it would be that. my draw length is 29. i know it needs a new string. i checked for cracks and saw none. It is in great condition. i cant wait to start shooting. he gave me 5 wooden arrows with these mad looking broadheads lol. Im not new to bow hunting but im new to traditional bows. im gonna need to practice a TON if i want to even be good enough for the late archery season . any tips for me?
Old 08-11-2011, 04:39 AM
Fork Horn

The Bear Kodiak Hunter is a nice recurve. Since it's a production made bow, it's 45# @ 28" since production made bows all have their poundage given for 28".

For every inch past 28", the bow will add 2#-3# per inch. Since you draw 29", the bow will be around 47#-48" for you.

One caveat. If the bow is marked.........x45, then the bow is 44# @ 28". If it's marked........45x, then the bow is 46# @ 28". The small "x" means you add or subtract 1# of weight depending on whether the "x" is in front or after the poundage number. Keep in mind at 29", you still have to add 2#-3#.

As for a new string for the bow, you didn't state how long the bow is. Normally, for a recurve, if the bow is 60" in length, you get a string 4" shorter. So, 60" bow, 56" string. A 58" bow, 54" string, etc.

Last edited by Night Wing; 08-11-2011 at 04:43 AM.
Old 08-14-2011, 08:39 AM
Typical Buck