Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
Total Newbie, Too many questions... >

Total Newbie, Too many questions...

Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Total Newbie, Too many questions...

Old 04-27-2011, 09:52 AM
Fork Horn

Default Total Newbie, Too many questions...

hey everyone, I'm 31 and have been shooting a compound bow since I was 14 so I have experience with "modern" gear. Well I love a challenge and am lucky enough to have moved to a piece of property where I can shoot a bow everyday in my yard. I want to get started in shooting a recurve mostly for fun and eventually to hunt with every now and then. I don't think I'll be good enough to hunt with a recurve this season, so i'm thinking of getting a basic target bow to learn the mechanics etc and then hopefully upgrade next year to a bow i can hunt with.
I know lots about compounds, and zero about recurves. First questions is, any suggestions on a good starter bow? I saw the PSE Mustang for $210, the Martin Jaguar Take down for $160 and the PSE Kingfisher for $120. I'd like to keep the cost maxed out around $200 since its just going to be to learn with. These all sounded like they have good reviews.
2nd question, poundage suggestions? These seem to go 40, 45, 50, 55. I shoot a 60-65lb compound and am not super strong but in shape. i was thinking to develop good form, going with the 40 or 45. Any suggestions?
3rd and final question for now, arrows? Aluminum, carbon, cedar? Sounded like people like aluminum with their recurves? I have a 29" arrows with my compound.

I have a few more questions but i'll get to them as the thread hopefully develops. I really appreciate any and all comments and thoughts. thanks everyone so much
Old 04-27-2011, 10:10 AM
Fork Horn

Sounds all right.

The Martins, PSE's are great beginners. I would start with 45lbs. Aluminums are great for beginning. Get some 1916's or 2016s. Get em 30" to start.