Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
Sometimes you just have to be honest ............. >

Sometimes you just have to be honest .............

Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Sometimes you just have to be honest .............

Old 02-05-2003, 01:45 PM

Default Sometimes you just have to be honest .............

I have been shooting a recurve since 1998. I had shot a compound for 15 years before that. I took third in the state with pins and fingers once and probably owned about 25 different bows. I had killed a few deer with my compound but wanted to get away from all the adjusting and other things associated with the compound.I wanted to set the curve up and just shoot. Hunting is very tough where I live. If I see 8 deer a year and get a shot at 2 with bow or gun, I've had a great year. After shooting for almost 5 years, I just have to be honest, and realize I will never get any better than I am with the recurve. I started shooting about 10" groups at 20 yards and after 5 years, I still shoot about 10" groups. Some days I will shoot 3 or 4 groups that touch but I am just don't do it enough to be able to hunt with any confidence. I have great respect and admiration for you guys that can shoot 2" groups at 20 and 30 yards but I sadly will never be in your group. I will probably keep a curve around and go to any shoots close like the GASS (which I really enjoyed ) but will concentrate on the wheels from now on. I would like to thank all the guys that have given me advice and tried to help me in the past. Don

Old 02-05-2003, 02:30 PM

Default RE: Sometimes you just have to be honest .............

Did ya try and other styles using your recurve?

or did you use the same style for 5 years...maybe you should of tried different styles and found one that likes you.