Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Newbie needs a bow.

Old 08-10-2006, 04:03 PM

Default Newbie needs a bow.

I've been shooting and hunting with compounds for about 15 years now. I think I want to get me a recurve. But I know very little about them.
What's a good brand? What are some features to look for, or avoid? What arrows should I get? What kind of fletchings? Should the arrows measure like they do on a compound? Depends on draw length?What about finger protection?What would I expect to pay for a GOOD bow. I don't want to start out with a beginers. Not sure I need a custom built one either. I'd use it for hunting primarily, but target and 3-D shoot also.
I'll need at least 50# to be legal.
I know this is a lot, but if I can get something from ya'll, it would be much appreciated.
Old 08-10-2006, 04:17 PM

Default RE: Newbie needs a bow.

I haven't been shooting long maybe six months. I just broke myrecurve today, the bottom limb split straight across at the riser. So I'm looking now too. longer the bow the more forgiving. I payed $150 for the one I just broke found it on ebay but I'd be cautious about buying from ebay, but I got lucky on a pair of Bear recurves. on the lowside $200 up to $600 for something I'd feel comfortable with. I'm debating going to a longbow. I'm looking at the Bear montana longbow or martin x200 recurve.
Old 08-11-2006, 06:51 AM
Giant Nontypical

What is your draw length with a compound? What State do you live in that requires a 50# minimum draw?
Old 08-11-2006, 11:32 AM

I shortened my draw length this year to 28". I live in Wyoming. I haven't read the regs, but I know 50# is minimum for compounds. We got a lot of big animals here. Need all the weapon you can handle! (lol)
Old 08-11-2006, 12:14 PM
Giant Nontypical