Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Rate me..........

Old 08-31-2005, 02:41 PM

Default Rate me..........

Since I'm new to the trad way of shooting, I have no real way to guage my progress......

I shot my first 3D shoot last weekend and had a blast..... The average distance was about 20yds, which I thought was long...... There were 2-3 over 20 and 2-3 under 20.....But for the most part they seemed to be in the 20yd range.... I scored a 214 out of 30 targets and ended up in the middle of pack....... Had 4 complete misses, 4 twelves and 5 tens..... I started out really well, but the back half killed me...... The back half accounted for all my misses and most of my 5's.....

So.......... is that about where you would expect me to be after starting back in March?

Where should I be by next summer if I keep practicing regularly?
Old 08-31-2005, 03:44 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Rate me..........

Generally, if I can come in with my scorecard holding 80% of the possible max score for the shoot, I feel okay about it. Even then, there are always at least a few shots during the shoot I wouldn't actually take on a live animal, so I don't really worry about it that much if I miss those and come in a few percentage points low.
Old 08-31-2005, 03:53 PM

Well then I got about 59% of the possible..... I got some major improving to do to get 80%
Old 08-31-2005, 05:05 PM
Giant Nontypical

I got some major improving to do...
Don't we all... That's what keeps it from getting boring though.
Old 08-31-2005, 08:36 PM