Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

several ????'s

Old 07-21-2005, 06:33 PM
Spike

Default several ????'s

I'm new to the traditional shooting.I did shhot several shoots with a rest ,plunger,and stablizer setup.Man it worked greatAfter the world shoot I'm debating wether to take it hunting.One ?? is I fletch my own does anyone use the feather fletching tape? and is it beter than glue?Another one is what type of broadhead do you use,3 blade or two blade?Also are Parabolic feathers better than sheild? Are they quieiter ?I'm still new to this and I'll have more?? after the world shoot,Thanks for your time.
Old 07-21-2005, 08:11 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: several ????'s

Hi Goldenarm. I'll try and answer your questions....

1) the fletching tape works fine, just remember to finish em off by putting a drop of glue on both ends of each quill.

2) The type of broadhead is largely your choice, barring any mechanicals of course, but especially forlighter draw wtrecurve/longbow set-ups a COC (Cut On Contact) broadhead gives more reliable penetration. There are very good COC heads in 2, 3, & 4 blade configurations.

3) I've found that parabolic is some quieter in flight than shield, but I'vekilled severalhigh strungKywhitetails w/both & I don't think they knew the difference. Personally I would pick parabolic if I had to choose just one.

There are several very intelligent & experienced ppl on here that (hopefully) will answer you w/a slightly different perspective on this stuff, but that's the way it's suppose to be. Bowhunting is a very individual endeavor.
Old 07-22-2005, 06:20 AM

everything arrowsmit said, I am going to try banana feathers this year. I try them at the shop I goto and to me they seem quiteter then the others. Try as many as you can and find out what works best for you.
Old 07-22-2005, 07:02 AM
Giant Nontypical

Right now, I'm using a maxi-fletch feather: