Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 To heck with KE formulas and theories >

To heck with KE formulas and theories

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

To heck with KE formulas and theories

Old 04-04-2005, 03:42 PM
Super Moderator

Default To heck with KE formulas and theories

This just isn't simple anymore and it gives me a headache. Back when bows were 50% to 60% letoff(a couple were 40%) and shooting fingers, at 65-67 lbs. I was shooting right around a 540 grain arrow.......2216's to be exact. I even dabbled a couple of seasons with 2219's at 70 lbs., till I figured out that 70 lbs. was just a tad too much for me when it got cold. When I started shooting a release. I still hunted with a heavy aluminum arrow. I blew through deer with no problem, but admittedly the arrow would not shoot as flat at longer distances.

KE was not even talked about then, at least not that I can remember. Certainly the correct arrow spine and weight most certainly was, along with FOC. I remember going to lighter arrows.....2213s for 3D shoots and eventually wound up using them for hunting. Next I used carbons, nearly the same weight but with a stiffer spine for hunting. And although I still killed my share of whitetail deer, I did notice a difference in penetration on not pinpoint hits and in fact even a passthrough on double lung hits were not quite as impressive.