Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Weights are having an adverse affect... >

Weights are having an adverse affect...

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Weights are having an adverse affect...

Old 03-03-2005, 06:26 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Weights are having an adverse affect...

I haven't shot my bow in a couple of months. Coincidentally, I started working out again at the beginning of January. I have gained a lot of strength in the weight room in that time. However, when I went to draw my bow back, I struggled a little. I went for about 5 years without lifting and I could draw 70 lbs back hard enough to snap the limbs if I wanted to. But now 70 lbs feels about like 90 lbs did before I started lifting. Any explanation for this?
Old 03-03-2005, 07:05 AM

Default RE: Weights are having an adverse affect...

i beleive its hard to work the muscles you use when drawing a bow while working out.
Old 03-03-2005, 07:09 AM
Boone & Crockett

I think gibblet is on the right track. The muscles that you use to draw your bow back may not necessarily be the same muscles (or might not be used in the same capacity) as the muscles you are using in your workouts. Truth be told, I found much the same as you. I have had times when I was not working out and the bows tend to feel like they draw much easier.

Then again it just could be all mental.....
Old 03-03-2005, 07:15 AM
Nontypical Buck