Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

String loop

Old 09-13-2004, 12:59 PM
  #1  
Fork Horn
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Falls Church VA USA
Posts: 130
Default String loop

This is the deal, My string loop looks like it might slip. I'm going to get it changed but will it effect how my bow is shooting now? I'm shooting perfect bullet holes and the i'm shooting really well w/ my pendulum out to 30yds.
Virginia Hunter is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 01:05 PM
  #2  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location:
Posts: 2,994
Default RE: String loop

If it slips up or down and you don't have anything but it to indicate your nock point, yes it will affect flight...

If you have it well tuned, slap a nockset on that puppy or mark the exact point somehow so you can set the new loop in the same position.

This is one reason why many still use a tie on nock or something in addition to the loop.
Rangeball is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 01:07 PM
  #3  
Giant Nontypical
 
BobCo19-65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location:
Posts: 7,571
Default RE: String loop

If you have nocks installed on the string, there should be no difference at all. If you don't then as long as the loop is installed in exactly the same spot, you should be OK. Have the proshop measure (they probably will anyway).
BobCo19-65 is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 01:07 PM
  #4  
Fork Horn
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Falls Church VA USA
Posts: 130
Default RE: String loop

Sorry, whe I said "slip", I meant it coming undone at the knot. I use a nock to keep it from sliding up and down.
Virginia Hunter is offline  
Old 09-14-2004, 07:33 AM
  #5  
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location:
Posts: 88
Default RE: String loop

I just replaced my tied on string loops with a new knotless type. It requires the string be taken off the bow to install it but I think it is worth it. See if your shop sells them.
Eider is offline  
Old 09-14-2004, 11:58 AM
  #6  
Typical Buck
 
NorthJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Munising MI
Posts: 501
Default RE: String loop

Just measure the length of your loop, and you should be fine.....shorten or lengthen it though and it will hit high or low.

I too use the tied-on nok point.
NorthJeff is offline  
Old 09-14-2004, 01:31 PM
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Mid-Missouri
Posts: 426
Default RE: String loop

I put a little white-out on the serving to see where my loop was at. I also replaced my loop with a knotless one. You need a bowpress to install it, but it cant come undone.
akaSharkey is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Cougar Mag
Technical
25
09-18-2011 07:49 PM
ultimag
Bowhunting
2
07-02-2006 02:49 PM
shishkabob
Bowhunting
18
08-29-2004 07:51 PM
kop
Technical
3
03-25-2003 08:01 PM
mordecaia
Technical
1
01-04-2002 09:02 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Quick Reply: String loop


Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.