Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

back tension??

Old 04-14-2004, 08:56 AM

Default back tension??

ok. Thanks for your answers concerning my draw length. Obvioulsy, I have some form related probs to work on. I was also reading a post concerning target panic, and one thing jumps out at me concerning both....back tension. I hear about releasing using back tension, now I am confused. Are we still pulling the trigger with our finger, or what.
Can someone please explain. I have been shooting for quite a few years, and am pretty good, but not nearly as good as I want to be, and it seems to be my form. any explanation will help alot.

thank you!!!
Old 04-14-2004, 09:03 AM
pup

Default RE: back tension??

they make what you would call a "back tension release" which doesnt have any kind of a triger and it goes of when you squeez your back muscles together but if you are tought the proper way you can you any release with back tension
Old 04-14-2004, 09:17 AM
Giant Nontypical

The best explanation of releasing with back tension I've heard is not 'squeezing the back muscles together.' Seems a lot of people have a hard time grasping what that means. I like to say 'use your shoulder to push your elbow straight back.'

You can get the feel for that just using your imaginary bow. Hold your bow arm up like you're shooting and your string hand on your normal anchor, just like you're at full draw. Then, just push that string hand elbow straight back. It'll only move an inch or so, but you'll feel the muscles that are involved. If you can't feel 'em, then push it back and push hard when you get it as far as it will go.

Once you feel those muscles, then you'll know what back tension is.