Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Bowtech Birth Certificates >

Bowtech Birth Certificates

Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Bowtech Birth Certificates

Old 02-29-2004, 09:54 AM

Default Bowtech Birth Certificates

Why the differences in the speed? My MM VFT BC says 287 fps @ 71.2#, 27" draw length with a 350 gr. arrow. While I was at the pro shop yesterday I was looking at his MM VFT's. They were 288 fps @ 71.2# and 29" dl, and the other was 285 fps @ 71.2# at 28" draw length. I thought for every inch under 30" you would loose about 10 fps yet mine at 27" and the one at 29" were withing 1 fps of each other. Does this make sense. Bear with me guys I'm still learning here and I want one of the faster Mighty Mite's
Greg.
Old 02-29-2004, 10:40 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Bowtech Birth Certificates

Greg,
?

That doesn't sound correct to me at all.......I've looked at dozens of BowTech BC's and what you are saying just doesn't make any sense.

First off........I find it odd that all 3 shipped at 71.2#'s? I have 3 different BC's at home right now, and they read, 71#, 70.8#, and 71.1#.
I guess it's POSSIBLE, but the speeds you are stating for those draw lengths wouldn't be on those certificates.

The range for the MM at various draw lengths should read pretty similar to this:
30"= 314-322
29"= 304-312
28"= 294-302
27"= 284-292
**These are just approximates**.

You will probably see a little bit of a change in ratio as you increase draw length but these should be ballpark.
What I mean is that you might have only an 8fps jump from 27" to 28", but you might see 10fps from 29" to 30". It's close, but I have seen the greatest speed jumps when you hit the highest module for any given model.

Anyway, your bow at 27" and 287fps falls right in the speed range I listed.