Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Summit stand pinging - Help! >

Summit stand pinging - Help!

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Summit stand pinging - Help!

Old 10-17-2003, 04:46 AM

Default Summit stand pinging - Help!

I have a Summit Bushmaster climbing treestand that is a couple of years old (it is one with the air pillow seat). The past couple of evenings, it has made a pinging or tapping sound when I shift my weight or move my feet slightly. It has NEVER done this before. While the sound is not real loud, I' m afraid it might be loud enough to alert a deer if there is one in close to me. Does anyone have any thoughts as to what may be causing this sound and how to stop it?
Old 10-17-2003, 07:00 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Summit stand pinging - Help!

Make sure all the nuts and bolts are tight. A little white grease at all the pivot points. Check all the welds to see if there are any visible cracks. Other than that, I don' t know what to tell you.
Old 10-17-2003, 07:34 AM

Arthur P - there are no nuts and bolts on my stand, just welds. I will go and re-check the welds, the lighting wasn' t the best when I first checked them.
Old 10-17-2003, 08:05 AM

Update: I emailed Summit about this problem. Two hours later, this is the response I got back:

" This sound could possibly be associated with a joint in the platform that
has some slight movement.

It is our policy to replace your treestand.

We will send a new stand and a pre paid fed ex call tag. Please place the
old stand in the new stand' s box and return it by using the fed ex label."

That is just downright incredible. It' s even more incredible that Summit responded to an email so quickly. Right now I am dumbfounded. How can you possibly top that kind of service?!
Old 10-17-2003, 09:35 AM
Nontypical Buck