Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
Haven't used bow in a year? >

Haven't used bow in a year?

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Haven't used bow in a year?

Old 07-06-2015, 06:10 PM
Spike

Default Haven't used bow in a year?

I'm new to hunting, never went before (I've gotten a lot of crap for wanting to go tho since I'm Indian and all haha), but I'm looking to go this season possibly. I bought a Mathews Mission Riot last fall and have used it a few times, but, I let my younger cousin use it and they dry fired it. Thankfully, only the strings have come undone so I went and got it fixed. I used it once or twice after that before I got into some health complications. I'm now wanting to get back into it and was wondering if I should do anything to my bow before I use it? I don't want it to 'snap' on me tho. Do I need to wax the strings first?

Also, how long should a bow like the one I have last me? I bought it brand new and everything.
Old 07-06-2015, 07:25 PM
Nontypical Buck

First off, did you take it to a QUALITY archery shop to get it checked over? Dry firing a compound can have some pretty drastic results. You have to be sure they checked the limb tips as well as the pockets for any sign of damage. You also need to thoroughly check your riser for any sign of stress cracks. Check out your cable anchor points too. If all that checks out and you had the string and cables replaced, you should be fine. Used to, a dry fire would have taken a good many years out of the limbs of a compound but with today's materials not so much. Today they are either good or broke and not so much in between. That Riot should last you many years.