Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
Newbie question - What kind/size of arrow? >

Newbie question - What kind/size of arrow?

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Newbie question - What kind/size of arrow?

Old 07-14-2015, 03:09 PM
Spike

Default Newbie question - What kind/size of arrow?

I'm pretty new to hunting, and while my friend was using my bow, he lost one of my arrows. I was wondering if it is worth getting just 1, don't even know if they sell them in a single package at all. But anyways, if/when I am in a market for some arrows, which brand/type would be good for me? I use a Mathews Mission Riot which is right now at 50 lbs, but I may move to 60 lb. Right now my other arrows are Gold Tip Expedition Hunter 5575/400 (carbon), but they're a bit too expensive at around $100 for dozen. I'm guessing I should probably stick with .400 spine, but does it matter what the O.D and I.D are (what do they stand for as well)? Or would any .400 spine arrow work? Can you recommend some good affordable brands that are good for hunting and practicing (or should I keep a separate set of each? Thanks!
Old 07-14-2015, 04:52 PM
Nontypical Buck

O.D. stands for Outer Dimension. .I.D. Stands for Inner Dimension. And no they don't sell them in singles. Need to know your arrow length (measure from the throat of the noch to the end of the shaft) as well as the weight tip you intend to use before I can tell you what spine you need. I already know what cam type is in that Bow. As far as practicing, I personally use the same type, weight, fletch, everything that I will be hunting with except the broadhead itself. I have used Carbon Express for around 12 or 13 years now. Most like them, some hate them. As far as Gold Tips go, you aren't going to find a better arrow cheaper that's for certain.
Old 07-14-2015, 05:16 PM
Boone & Crockett