Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Sighting in

Old 09-19-2011, 10:56 AM
Spike

Default Sighting in

Looking for some advise here. I've been shooting all summer long. My sights are dead on!! Last week I started shooting broadheads. From the ground they basically shoot the same, right on the mark. From an elevated platform (my roof) i'm shooting about 5"low.(my field points were also hitting low). I focus on bending at the waist, keeping my arm straight etc. and still hit low. The 5" is consistant, so do I adjust my sights or compensate high. I've been shooting 15' high and 20 yards out.
Old 09-20-2011, 04:13 AM
Spike

How are you measuring the 20 yards?

If it's 20 yards through a range finder, then you need to cut a yard or so. If you are measuring from the base of your "stand", you may have a problem with peep height.
Old 09-20-2011, 04:29 AM
Fork Horn

Default Geometry v/s Gravity

From a steep angle it can be very different. I take a target out to my stands before the season opens and place it at different spots and shoot from my stand to absolutly know the range of my shooting spots. THen I can compensate if needed in between. On one field stand on the edge of the woods, I even take a weed eater with a rope tied to the stand, check the range by shooting and then cut a semi-circle into the food plot right to the ground. Two marks for first and second pin and there is no guess work out there for the whole season.
Old 09-20-2011, 06:02 AM
Spike