Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
cables touching string on cam >

cables touching string on cam

Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

cables touching string on cam

Old 10-19-2009, 12:26 PM
  #1  
Typical Buck
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 996
Default cables touching string on cam

I just installed my new vaportrail string on my 82nd airborne.

It's a 60# bow but when we hooked it on the scale it gave only 55#
My tech twisted the string about 5 turns to get 55# and the limbs are maxed out.
he told me to twist the cables to get mor poundage but that makes the string touch the cables where they are attached on the cams.
Is this a problem ? I took a brigadier out of the rack at the shop and the cables are touching the string as well at that point ?

Any other suggestions because I bought the new string to get more juice.

F.
m9a9g9i9c is offline  
Old 10-19-2009, 02:32 PM
  #2  
bigcountry
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Here is what I suggest. You want to make your strings the standard. In other words. You got a string length spec. Using 1/4" pegs, stretch and make your string that length. Do the same with your cables. After that, measure ATA. If your not hitting poundage twist you cables.

I too have problems with cable rubbing my cams on my guardian. Its due to excessive cam lean. I have sent it back once and they replaced my limbs. Still didn't fix it. Started rubbing on the other cam. But point I am getting at is I wouldn't be tempted to fix the issue by cable/string twists.

Last edited by bigcountry; 10-19-2009 at 02:36 PM.
 
Old 10-19-2009, 05:20 PM
  #3  
Nontypical Buck
 
brucelanthier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Southern MD
Posts: 2,520
Default

I would make sure the scale is accurate before I did any more adjusting. An inaccurate scale would be my first suspect if two bows showed the same lack of draw weight problem.

I too have problems with cable rubbing my cams on my guardian. Its due to excessive cam lean. I have sent it back once and they replaced my limbs. Still didn't fix it.
I had that problem on an 07 Allegiance. I replaced the cams and fixed it. I took the strings and cables off of the bow and mounted my laser on the bow. I aimed it at the cam and rotated it and could see the problem was with the cam and, of course, it was even worse when stressed by the cables and string. You may want to look at replacing the cams.
brucelanthier is offline  
Old 10-19-2009, 06:01 PM
  #4  
Nontypical Buck
 
SwampCollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Where the ducks don't come no more
Posts: 4,420
Default

It usually ends up being the limbs and limb pockets that get replaced before the cam lean problem is really fixed.

Remember too with draw weight that if you are using a vertical draw scale (such as a spring scale) you need to take the weight of the bow into account as well. So you may well only be making 50#s.
SwampCollie is offline  
Old 10-19-2009, 06:48 PM
  #5  
bigcountry
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally Posted by brucelanthier View Post
I would make sure the scale is accurate before I did any more adjusting. An inaccurate scale would be my first suspect if two bows showed the same lack of draw weight problem.


I had that problem on an 07 Allegiance. I replaced the cams and fixed it. I took the strings and cables off of the bow and mounted my laser on the bow. I aimed it at the cam and rotated it and could see the problem was with the cam and, of course, it was even worse when stressed by the cables and string. You may want to look at replacing the cams.
Thanks. I am kinda at the mercy of bowtech for warranty. Think I am switching to hoyt next time around.
 
Old 10-20-2009, 12:58 PM
  #6  
Typical Buck
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 996
Default cam lean

I checked my cams and they don't lean eitherway.
The string is touching the cables where they are hooked on the cams.
And I can see my string being pushed outwards by the stringstopper in the middle. I replaced the factory V model with a flat one from bowjax. It's as far inwards as it can go, so I really need to make the limbs bent some more so the string stops touching the cables and the stopper.
I'm going back tomorrow to the shop to get my cables twisted up, hopefully this helps.
I don't want to change cams or limbs, I'd be better off buying a new bow then......

F.
m9a9g9i9c is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.