Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 how to tie in the cord of a QAD rest >

how to tie in the cord of a QAD rest

Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

how to tie in the cord of a QAD rest

Old 06-03-2009, 11:26 AM
  #1  
Typical Buck
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 996
Default how to tie in the cord of a QAD rest

Anyone have pics of how to tie in the the cord on the cables of a QAD rest.
I busted one of the attachments trying to thighten the screws.
Or could anyone explain it to me ?

Frank
m9a9g9i9c is offline  
Old 06-03-2009, 02:42 PM
  #2  
bigcountry
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default RE: how to tie in the cord of a QAD rest

Well, where you had the football (cable holder), I start by tieing in a knot above it and then press your bow. That knot is temporary. Remove the football, and stick the excess cable between the two bundles of the downward cable. Unpress your bow, then serve using serving of course overtop the excess cable just as you would serve a string.Serve about 1". That cable ain't goin no where. You can remove the temporary knot you had.

If you tie over it, it can slide unless you do a series of overhand knots down the string that run down the cable 1/2". If you do try to tie in like this, I use D97 fastflight material, you can use a piece of an old string.

A local pro-shop in the baltimore area tryes to tie them in with a small knot, and I told my buddy, it can move, and he didn't believe me, so when the bow was at rest, I could take my finger and move the knot. Reason it didn't move before at full draw is the cable puts tension on the knot. But the crap this pro-shop pulls, doesn't surprise me.
 
Old 06-03-2009, 04:22 PM
  #3  
Fork Horn
 
dogboy900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Zealand (Wellington)
Posts: 233
Default RE: how to tie in the cord of a QAD rest

SwampCollie did a great write up about this and this is the way I have tied mine in with no problems.

Check out his thread

http://www.huntingnet.com/forum/tm.a...t&#3170704
dogboy900 is offline  
Old 06-06-2009, 08:14 AM
  #4  
Nontypical Buck
 
LKNCHOPPERS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,282
Default RE: how to tie in the cord of a QAD rest

I serve it in place with just a few wraps of serving. Draw the bow back and adjust the cord so the rest is fully cocked at full draw, not too much tension on the cord and not to little. Then I serve it again right over the first served spot real tight this time, making sure not to change the cord length. I have done several this way. I shoot a lot and this method holds up for me very well.
LKNCHOPPERS is offline  
Old 06-06-2009, 12:30 PM
  #5  
Typical Buck
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 996
Default RE: how to tie in the cord of a QAD rest

thanks for the help, QAD set up perfect once again.


Frank
m9a9g9i9c is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 04:21 AM
  #6  
Nontypical Buck
 
davepjr71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Balt, MD (orig: J-town,PA) The bowels of Hell!!!
Posts: 2,188
Default RE: how to tie in the cord of a QAD rest

Frank,

All you have to do is stick the string thorugh your cable and draw. Then, cut the string and heat the end to ball it up. In the past I've used serving but you really do not even need the serving once you do this. The string will not move any further up the cable due to the cable force.
davepjr71 is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 12:07 PM
  #7  
Typical Buck
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 996
Default RE: how to tie in the cord of a QAD rest

Dave,

I tied it in, same knot as a D-loop and serving up and under, works great.
I don't have a bowpress, so I had to tie it.

You look good with that beard, makes you look mature

Frank
m9a9g9i9c is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 12:31 PM
  #8  
Nontypical Buck
 
davepjr71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Balt, MD (orig: J-town,PA) The bowels of Hell!!!
Posts: 2,188
Default RE: how to tie in the cord of a QAD rest

Frank,

Thanks, if i at least look mature it may make other people believe I am. haha

When are you coming to the states?

A press does help. You should get a portable press to use for changing strings and cables and such.
davepjr71 is offline  
Old 06-18-2009, 12:29 PM
  #9  
Typical Buck
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 996
Default RE: how to tie in the cord of a QAD rest

Dave, now that you mention it, I might come over next year in the summer to do some shopping, some shooting, some hunting and some tourisme.
I still need to plan most of those things but the idea's there.....

F.
m9a9g9i9c is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
SGT.H
Bowhunting
8
05-17-2009 04:10 PM
jkcmerg
Technical
4
03-22-2008 06:43 AM
AR Bowhunter
Bowhunting Gear Review
8
07-15-2007 08:54 PM
NY Harvester
Technical
1
09-20-2005 07:21 PM
BPBowhunter
Technical
2
07-21-2004 11:16 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Quick Reply: how to tie in the cord of a QAD rest


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.