Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Hitting to left? >

Hitting to left?

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Hitting to left?

Old 05-05-2009, 07:24 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Hitting to left?

I had not shot my Mathews Switchback XT for awhile because of surgery and when I started shooting it again a couple months ago it was shooting about 4" to the left. My stance hasn't changed, nor has any of the equipment changed and I KNOW FOR A FACT it was sighted in perfectly. Nor does it have cam lean and nothing I can see is out of kilter. Nobody has messed with it either. It wasn't a problem to gang adjust the sight pins but it has me wondering. The arrows are also exactly the same as they was as well. By the way, My QAD rest is still exactly the same as when I tuned my bow perfectly. Any ideas?
Old 05-05-2009, 08:55 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Hitting to left?

That is usually a form issue,draw length too short or too long and not getting proper alingnment along with good bone to bone contact.

The worse the form,the more important constant practice becomes.

Tune can add to the equation as well.Centershot is very important to eliviate left and right issues.
Old 05-06-2009, 04:26 AM
Nontypical Buck

See-the thing is I have checked and analyzed my form & stance about a jillion times. Also the centershot is still true. I'm not torquing the bow and my group is still about 2" at 30 yards,was just to the left all of a sudden. All I had to do was adjust the sight to make it hit dead on. I even paper tested it to make SURE it was still in tune, (by the way-it is). it just drove me nuts trying to figure why it was shooting left out of the blue.
Old 05-06-2009, 06:41 AM
Nontypical Buck