Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Will I be spined properly? >

Will I be spined properly?

Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Will I be spined properly?

Old 11-20-2008, 05:22 PM
  #11  
Nontypical Buck
 
BGfisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Middletown PA United States
Posts: 3,625
Default RE: Will I be spined properly?

ORIGINAL: brucelanthier

You could always drop a pound or two and shoot at 67-68. That solves a slightly weak spine real quick.
And it's a whole lot cheaper than new, stiffer arrows. How easy can it get?
BGfisher is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 05:27 PM
  #12  
Nontypical Buck
 
BGfisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Middletown PA United States
Posts: 3,625
Default RE: Will I be spined properly?

ORIGINAL: Black Stick

No, I guess I figured that there must be stiffer arrows. I know that the 7595 is as stiff as GT makes them, but If I can buy a bow with 80# and even 90# of draw weight, there must be arrows to buy for them.
Boy, do you have a lot to learn. Try looking at the spine of the "300" Ultralite. Look at the spine of the UL22 series. Maybe the X Cutters or the 30X.

Expedition and XT 7595 is supposedly a 340 spine. They are mostly what you see in shops because that's what shops can sell. That doesn't mean GT doesn't have stiffer shafts.
BGfisher is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 07:16 PM
  #13  
 
Black Stick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 807
Default RE: Will I be spined properly?

Alright. Then he can get the stiffer shaft so he can keep his poundage where it's at. It is an option.
Black Stick is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 10:33 PM
  #14  
Nontypical Buck
 
OHbowhntr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 2,531
Default RE: Will I be spined properly?

Viagra??? That might stiffen the shaft!!!!

Ryan,
You got a few fixes for it, I think I'd go with the drop a couple pounds or maybe use a 100gr tip rather than the 125, whichever hits the spine right. I'm sure you'll have it figured out without too much effort and frustration.
OHbowhntr is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 10:58 AM
  #15  
Giant Nontypical
Thread Starter
 
rybohunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 7,208
Default RE: Will I be spined properly?

Thanks for the help guys, I just wanted to make sure I wasn't out in left field. As long as Iam close, I can drop the # or make any small adjustments needed.
rybohunter is offline  
Old 11-22-2008, 11:25 PM
  #16  
Typical Buck
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 760
Default RE: Will I be spined properly?

Rybohunter, you dont need new arrows , the 7595 at 28 inches with the specs you gave are actually in the high green area or even slightly high spine according to OT2. They will work excellent for you. Here is what OT2 showed for your setup when I put the numbers in.



archer 2 is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 12:09 AM
  #17  
 
Black Stick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 807
Default RE: Will I be spined properly?

I don't have OT2 because I have a mac. I could run it in VMware Fusion which lets me run Windows, but I'm not going to because I don't want viruses. Can you guys run the numbers for me? I cannot see any porpoising in the arrow flight, but that could be because it is going too fast and I have terrible eye sight.

2008 Bowtech 82nd Airborne 73#, 29"DL (335 fps)
Carbon Express Maxima 3D Select 350 (cut to 28")
Allen 100 grain bullet style field point.
4" LW straight feathers.
CX nock
No nock collar
Total arrow mass: 369.5 grains

I do not know what exactly needs to go into this thing, so I gave you everything that I thought you would need. If I missed something, just let me know.
I seriously hope that this comes out as good as his did because I like how consistent these arrows are.
If they are too weak or strong, I would probably try to fix this by changing the length of the shaft and since I am going to be getting new arrows with my Christmas money, I could have them cut to anything from uncut (full length) to 27". If changing the length cannot fix it, I guess I would be willing to change arrows. Let me know what you recommend, but realize that I'd like them to have a consistency of .001, just like the 3D selects. Price doesn't matter.
Black Stick is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 06:08 AM
  #18  
 
Jimimac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Plum Boro, PA
Posts: 1,423
Default RE: Will I be spined properly?

Where can I get that Ontarget software? Thanks...
Jimimac is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 06:09 AM
  #19  
 
Jimimac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Plum Boro, PA
Posts: 1,423
Default RE: Will I be spined properly?

Scratch that. I figured it out. This google thing really is neat. lol
Jimimac is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 06:54 AM
  #20  
bigcountry
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default RE: Will I be spined properly?

ORIGINAL: archer 2

Rybohunter, you dont need new arrows , the 7595 at 28 inches with the specs you gave are actually in the high green area or even slightly high spine according to OT2. They will work excellent for you. Here is what OT2 showed for your setup when I put the numbers in.


Your OT2 run has a 1cam hard. You need to change the bow.
 

Quick Reply: Will I be spined properly?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.