Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Arrow choice for hunting? >

Arrow choice for hunting?

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Arrow choice for hunting?

Old 08-19-2008, 08:32 AM

Default Arrow choice for hunting?

Guys, I am new to bowhunting and have not been shooting long. When I boughtmy bow I bought some arrows to practice with and was wondering if I should stick with them for bow season? I shoot them accurately and they seem consistent. Any thoughts? Thanks, NRA
Old 08-19-2008, 09:37 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Arrow choice for hunting?

It all depends on what the arrows are, how much they weight, what your forward of center (FOC) is and what you are going to be hunting. If you shoot them well then you are probably good to go but some of the things that I mentioned above could come into play.
Old 08-19-2008, 10:12 AM
Nontypical Buck

You'll have to be more specific if you want any advice.

What bow, drawweight, draw length, point weight, arrow type/size/length at a minimum.
Old 08-19-2008, 08:02 PM

First thing I would do is to go to a reputable pro shop. The larger retail chains just cant give the direction or attention someone new like you and I need. I have been struggling as of late getting my bow in hunting shape. I get good groups with my fieldpoints but when paper tested, different story. I have learned the flight of a fixed blade is the true test of a well tuned bow? I have made several posts in regards to this issue. Tons of helpful information. Check them out.
Old 08-19-2008, 08:06 PM

ORIGINAL: UncleNorby

You'll have to be more specific if you want any advice.

What bow, drawweight, draw length, point weight, arrow type/size/length at a minimum.
Ahh- my apologies I have a Bowtech Tomkat, 65 pound draw, 29 inch draw length, and I am shooting Beman ICS 400's with standard field tips....