Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 would this work? >

would this work?

Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

would this work?

Old 03-11-2008, 08:43 PM
  #1  
Thread Starter
 
ONESHOT_BRANDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location:
Posts: 62
Default would this work?

well i went to bass pro shop today and i was told that this setup would work well for what i want to acomplish...

i got my dw set up at 59-60 lbs and i have about a 27 inch draw with a release.

i plan on buying some carbon fury arrows[6075] that weigh 10.1 grains per inch @ 30 inches.... the main reason for wanting to get a longer arrow is cuz i dont feel comfortable with a broad head real close to my hand...any way

on the chart it says for 58-63 lbs i can use 30 in arrows[6075]..but for 29 inch arrows i can use the [4560] @ like 9.1 grains per in..

30 inch arrows will sit about 3 inches in front of the bow at full draw

im so confused can some one help me i dont know what to get..[6075] or [4560]

dont rag on me for wanting toget these arrows ...i know what yall are thinkin buy a good bow just to put "cheap" arrows on it..

i was also considering the beman ics hunters but those are lighter...

whats the reccomended grains per inch for hunting...i need a good punch for some hogs..
ONESHOT_BRANDON is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 08:59 PM
  #2  
Boone & Crockett
 
bigbulls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10,679
Default RE: would this work?

I would use 45-60's and cut them to 28 inches. They will still be out in front of your hand by at least an inch and you will be better spined for your set up.


bigbulls is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 09:42 PM
  #3  
Thread Starter
 
ONESHOT_BRANDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location:
Posts: 62
Default RE: would this work?

whats the difference between a 8.4 gpi and 10.1 gpi...also whats reccomended for hunting?

8.4=252 @ 30 in
10.1=303 @ 30 in...+100 grain braodhead.=403 is that too heavy of an arrow that would mainly be shot at 30 yds?
ONESHOT_BRANDON is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 05:36 PM
  #4  
Nontypical Buck
 
davepjr71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Balt, MD (orig: J-town,PA) The bowels of Hell!!!
Posts: 2,188
Default RE: would this work?

Choose the 4560's. The 6075's are way too stiff. I've run a quick OT2 simulation for your bow with the Carbon Express Terminator Lite which is basically the same arrow and the spines will be identical. Eastman makes both arrows under the 2 different names.

Unless you use a 125 gr head the shortest you should go with that arrow is 29".

Your completed arrow will be about 384 grains w/ 100 gr tip.




davepjr71 is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 06:32 PM
  #5  
Thread Starter
 
ONESHOT_BRANDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location:
Posts: 62
Default RE: would this work?

dave

thanks so much for taking the time to help me out a bit..

i thought no one was goin to reply to this thread well thatnks alot

i think i might have to buy that software...
ONESHOT_BRANDON is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 06:39 PM
  #6  
 
millerhunter13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Where the big deer are from, seminole county FL
Posts: 1,435
Default RE: would this work?

^ do you like your instinct? the reason i am askin is cause i am getting one this weekend and i wanted to know what you think.
millerhunter13 is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 06:42 PM
  #7  
Nontypical Buck
 
davepjr71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Balt, MD (orig: J-town,PA) The bowels of Hell!!!
Posts: 2,188
Default RE: would this work?

Your welcome.

OT2 is worth the $24.95 you pay for it. Once you get a chrono'd arrow you can set the IBO for your bow.
davepjr71 is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 07:39 PM
  #8  
Thread Starter
 
ONESHOT_BRANDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location:
Posts: 62
Default RE: would this work?

miller hunter

yeah i luv my instinct...
its very smooth at draw and feels very comfortable in my hands..

dave
if i use a 29 inch arrow with the 4560's it will be perfectly spined right?
i tried it on the ot2 and it seemed to spine perfectly


ONESHOT_BRANDON is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 07:48 PM
  #9  
Spike
 
guasto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 61
Default RE: would this work?

Where did you buy the program? I cant find it.
guasto is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 08:13 PM
  #10  
Thread Starter
 
ONESHOT_BRANDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location:
Posts: 62
Default RE: would this work?

www.pinwheelsoftware.com/


hey guys i just measured my dl in amo and i got 28.25....i wonder if that makes a difference?

the weird thing is that when i went to basspro and i measured it with that measuring bow i got closer to 27 in....am i measuring the dl wrong?

this is how i did it...ill post the pik on another reply..
ONESHOT_BRANDON is offline  

Quick Reply: would this work?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.