Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

DRAW LENGTH

Old 01-14-2008, 07:26 PM

Default DRAW LENGTH

I have been shooting my pse with a 29 inch dl plus a loop for about 3 years its the only bow i have ever owned. I am buying me a SB XT so me and 2 friends went to the nearest mathews dealer around. We all looked around and talked, before we left we decided to get our dl measured because another friend was shooting a 30 in draw and when he got his mathews he shot a 28.5. When he measured me he said i had a 27 in draw, i put my fist up against the wall and he measured back to the corner of my mouth. This was a BIG suprise i had my pse with me and they couldnt believe how far back it came my loop was all the way back toward my ear. Anyway is this the most accurate way to measure the dl fist to the wall or is there a more accurate way? When i order it i want to get it right so i dont have to wait for them to send it back and get the right dl. Thanks in advance.
Old 01-14-2008, 07:28 PM

Default RE: DRAW LENGTH

By the way 3 people i know one who was with me and the other friend i told you about all got our bows from the same place and the same guy measured all 3 of us and we were all wrong.
Old 01-14-2008, 07:31 PM
Nontypical Buck

Didn't you already learn this on AT.com???
Old 01-14-2008, 08:57 PM
Giant Nontypical

Many will tell you to use the wingspand method which if you asked this over there I am sure that is what you heard.

I disagree with that method but it might get you close but I can look at most and get them close.

The best method is to draw a bow back and measure it that way.

I have seen the way that shop measure get you close as well.
Old 01-15-2008, 06:09 AM