Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 String Pops off Cam - Why? >

String Pops off Cam - Why?

Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

String Pops off Cam - Why?

Old 10-25-2007, 12:22 AM
Spike

Default String Pops off Cam - Why?

Have been shooting a Hoyt split limb and just had the string pop off the cam. Can anyone please tell me why/how this could happen, and how to prevent it? It's a two cam bow with standard Y cables to the axles.
Thanks in advance.
Old 10-25-2007, 04:13 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: String Pops off Cam - Why?

extreme cam lean.. is my only guess.. i am no expert but thats one thing that pops out in my mind.

Old 10-25-2007, 06:14 AM
Nontypical Buck

When is it popping off the string? Torque induced by the shooter can cause this. Twist the string and/or torgue the bow and it's likely to happen. Especially when trying to let down.

Also if you have, say, a 70# bow and it's backed off to 60# then there may not be enough tension on the rigging, which can cuse it.

Cam lean is another possibility.

Then again, it could be a combination of any or all of these.
Old 10-25-2007, 09:25 AM
Spike

BG and Shot, thanks for the tips.

The cams do appear to be leaning, even when they are not under tension.

They lean more when drawn. It is at rated poundage for the limbs.

Since I don't typically 'hold' the handle, and use a D-Loop, there must be some other explanation for the cam lean besides torque.

Especially when trying to let down.
Yep, just when starting to let down.

Any ideas as to why the cams lean, and possible corrective actions would be appreciated.

Old 10-25-2007, 09:39 AM
Giant Nontypical