Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Another tuning question! >

Another tuning question!

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Another tuning question!

Old 08-10-2006, 06:21 PM

Default Another tuning question!

I'm kinda new to bow hunting and i have a question about broad head tuning. I've read on some forums about it but I'm still confused. My FP group very well at 10 - 35 yds. My fixed blade BH also group very well 10 - 35 yds, just about 5" low and 5" to the left. Is there any way i can get the BH closer to the FP? I target shot alot and it would be a pain to adjust my BH during the hunting season every time i hunt. I'm also considering a expandable head if i cant solve thisproblem and wouldn't mind someopinionson this subject also. thanks for any advice!
Old 08-10-2006, 06:33 PM

Default RE: Another tuning question!

Your rig isn't perfectly in tune. Something is wrong, and I think maybe you are overspined. ( I always get that confused, is left overspined, or under?)

Anyway, do some paper tuning. I suspect something just isn't quite right. But, if your BH's are grouping well, you could just adjust your sights.
Old 08-10-2006, 06:39 PM

I did a bare shaft tune from 10 - 35yds and i was pleased. Arrows were grouping good together and almost at the same angle. I followed that with paper tuning. I had a tear to the left, so i think the easton guide said move my rest to the left? I did that as much as i could (ran out of adjustment)but it still tears to the left.
Old 08-10-2006, 06:51 PM

Yeah, sounds like your head is either too heavy or too light...Sorry, I can just never remember which.....I think it's too heavy. Maybe try a lighter point and see if that don't take care of it.

What's your set up? What size arrows, draw weight and length, point weight?
Old 08-10-2006, 07:10 PM