Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 arthur, bg, paul, and other smart folks, a ? >

arthur, bg, paul, and other smart folks, a ?

Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

arthur, bg, paul, and other smart folks, a ?

Old 12-23-2005, 11:40 AM

Default arthur, bg, paul, and other smart folks, a ?

if i short string utm's pse an inch in an attempt to decrease his draw length, should i also decrease the cable about 5/16" - 3/8"(single cam, and that's about the ratio), or is that just going to gain brace height and not really anything else. if i short it a whole inch and leave the cable alone that cam is going to be waaaaaay off.

need some advice.
Old 12-23-2005, 11:43 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: arthur, bg, paul, and other smart folks, a ?

I'm not an expert on this, but are you sure you are going the right way with that (string length). Wouldn't you want to increase the string length to increase the ATA and decrease the brace height?
Old 12-23-2005, 11:49 AM

we're trying to decrease his drawlength and he's out of adjustment.
Old 12-23-2005, 11:58 AM
Giant Nontypical

yup, I know.

But I would think that if you increase the ATA length and decreased brace height, then the draw cycle would begin at a point closer to his grip.

If you decrease the string length, wouldn't it decrease the axle to axle, increase brace and put more strain on the limbs? The draw cycle would then start at a point that is actually further from the grip. And he would have to anchor at apoint further back from where he is now.

Old 12-23-2005, 12:45 PM

i think if the cable stays the same we'll really only be rotating the cam, thus shortening his draw, but if we short it a whole inch the cam will be way out of time. but ifi adjust the cable also, we'll end up in the predicament you say, i think, that's why i'm asking for help.
Old 12-23-2005, 02:23 PM