Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Help me shoot better >

Help me shoot better

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Help me shoot better

Old 10-13-2005, 08:46 PM
Fork Horn

Default Help me shoot better

Im new here, in fact this is my first post. I am pretty new to shooting a bow. I've shoot a few in the past. I've got a Golden Eagle, 70lb max, 30 inch draw. I would like a better bow, but this one shoots pretty good for me and I am comfortable taking a shot on a deer out to 30-35yards.

I am shooting the cheaper ($3-$4) Carbon Wolverine Hunters with 100 gr. muzzy broadheads/points. I got my poundage lowered down to around 60 or so. The arrows are rated 50-60 lbs.

Do you think it would group any better shooting aluminum arrows and pulling the full 70 lbs? Would I need 125 gr. broadheads or keep the 100 gr.? Or I could pick up a few of the higher ($5-$6) carbon arrows and try them with 65-70 lb. draw weight?

Also, the arrows are 29 inch length, however they are pretty dang short and the broadhead just barely clears the end of the rest. Should I go to 30" or 31" or will it shoot the same?

I have two sets of silencers on the string, is that too much? 1 set of silicone and 1 set of cloth-type.

Basically, any advise to help me shoot better will be appreciated. I hope to make it to a bow shop soon to do some shooting and maybe learn some stuff.
Old 10-13-2005, 09:19 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Help me shoot better

the string silencers shouldn't be a problem. I'm not sure what spine your arrows are, but with that long of a draw you may need to get a little stiffer spine. Spine problems can cause many problems as far as accuracy is concerned. Let us know some more about the arrows (spine mainly). We can then help you figure what weight BH and draw weight you should shoot.
Old 10-13-2005, 09:32 PM
Fork Horn