Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > After The Hunt > Taxidermy
 Old hunter with noob question.... >

Old hunter with noob question....

Community
Taxidermy Tips and questions about taxidermy and the art of preserving the memory of your hunt.

Old hunter with noob question....

Old 08-26-2008, 02:19 PM
Spike

Default Old hunter with noob question....

hey all,
I got a quick pretty simple question....

Ive been hunting for 13 years and have pretty much only hunted deer but never in any of those years have i mounted anything , not even my first deer.... i couldnt swing the $$ at the time but this year im expanding my hunting and i will be doing some bear , bird and more deer hunting and I want to know exactly what i am to do after i gut it ....

If i hit a bear or deer or bird what should i do immediatly after the shot .... .

To be honest, i know how to gut a deer , but a bear or bird ive never even shot before ,.....

Any Advice ????
Old 08-26-2008, 06:50 PM

Default RE: Old hunter with noob question....

do what I did, go to your taxidermist and ask him/her how they would like to recieve the hide to be mounted. This will make their job easier and could cost you less money,extra sewing of the hide.
Old 08-26-2008, 09:37 PM
Spike

Well to be honest, I havent decided which taxidermist to go with yet. They are all kinda expensive. I want to go with whomever will do the best work but $$ is defenitly an issue.........so I am limited.... Some of these guys i think will over charge just cause can......
Old 08-27-2008, 11:36 AM
Fork Horn

ORIGINAL: A6A6

.... Some of these guys i think will over charge just cause can......