Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > After The Hunt > Taxidermy
 without using a tumbler? >

without using a tumbler?

Community
Taxidermy Tips and questions about taxidermy and the art of preserving the memory of your hunt.

without using a tumbler?

Old 07-30-2007, 08:33 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default without using a tumbler?

Is there an equally effective way to get the feathers of a bird to fluff without using a tumbler? I'm just starting out and sort of poking around taxidermy as a hobby and don't have the money to soak into a tumbler just yet. I have two bobwhites that I'd like to mount, and the last two birds I did I used a friend's tumbler, but he's visiting florida for the next several months and his shop is all closed up. (After he finishes the season's work, he goes out on fishing trips from his brother's condo on the coast).

Is there any other way?
Old 07-30-2007, 04:33 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: without using a tumbler?

You can make a poor mans tumbler, put baffles in a drum and hand roll it. Or you can use a hair dryer and a compressor.
Old 07-31-2007, 11:45 AM

Default RE: without using a tumbler?