Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Sporting Dogs
finding a good coonhound >

finding a good coonhound

Community
Sporting Dogs What's the best dog for what type of game? Find out what other hunters think.

finding a good coonhound

Old 07-16-2010, 11:03 AM
Fork Horn

Default finding a good coonhound

how many out there know kennels that consistently produce good solid coonhounds. Not points dogs or me toos but a dog that can go out by himself and tree you a coon if there is a coon to be treed. obviously it takes some training, but with a good lined hound there should not be that hard to find. I just got rid of my second bluetick, a few months ago. I dont care if it is the ugliest dog in the world as long as it does its job. Im not an expert when it comes to training hounds but I do train dogs for protection work so I have some dog sense about me. Just wonderin if any of you have a good solid coonhound and where you got it from.
Old 07-19-2010, 03:56 PM
Fork Horn

Russ bellar keeps throwing solid dogs. He mainly runs walkers and has big D, insane cain, sodbuster and how many other that either won world hunts or big hunts. Any one of his lines are pretty decent. You might find a nice started one in your area on www.ukcdogs.com/ the forum
Old 07-22-2010, 01:20 PM
Fork Horn

i have a treeing walker she is the best dog i have ever had she is out of the Buck Creek line of dogs i havent heard of any buck creek dogs being not able to hunt and tree coons but what kind of dog you lookin to get cause there is quite the variety of dogs out there that are meant for coon huntin.......
the most common are the treeing walker hounds they are real good hounds i see a lot of these hounds winning hunts all around the country so i guess some research will help on findin the right hound