Community
Sporting Dogs What's the best dog for what type of game? Find out what other hunters think.

Spoiling

Old 01-04-2008, 10:46 AM

Default Spoiling

I have GSP pup and this is my first time around with the whole training deal. I am keeping her in the house. I was just wondering where you guys draw the line between making her a pet and over spoiling her to the point she might not make a bird dog? As far as punishment, sleeping in the bed, and other stuff like that. Thanks again guys!
Old 01-04-2008, 11:40 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Spoiling

The saying is don't ever spoil your bird dog...I do mine though and have never had a problem.. I keep mine in at night mostly but also during the day if the weather is not that great out. I try and keep them as my hunting buddies so really I haven't had a problem with spoiling them..
Old 01-04-2008, 11:50 AM

I had a buddy growing up who had a brittany, lived inside. His mom was home all the time and she would aways feed the dog table scraps, pet the dog no stop all day, and that dog wouldnt even come to my buddy, and it was HIS dog. He bought it from a breeder for bird hunting and his mom ruined it. Wouldnt listen to Gene, only to his mom. She grew up to be a house dog, he only took her hunting a couple of times before she got too spoiled, and she was too young really to be a productive hunter when she did go. He is still mad about that nearly 40 years later.

All my dogs are kennel kept, outside. Doesnt mean I dont love them and make them part of my family. they are dogs, hunting dogs. They dont get belly rubs unless they are doing a good job in the field and we take a break on the tailgate. No treats, just dog food and water, and they love their jobs.
Old 01-04-2008, 12:11 PM