Community
Sporting Dogs What's the best dog for what type of game? Find out what other hunters think.

Calling

Old 09-22-2006, 06:01 PM

Default Calling

I got a wierd one here. I've been training my lab for waterfowl hunting for almost 10 months now. He's does single, double and blind retrieves no problem, is steady when shooting until i release him but i have one problem. He goes absolutely nuts when i get him to heal beside me and call. The wierd part is that he is fine when i use a mallard call, its when i use a goose call that he goes crazy. He barks and runs around in circles for some reason. Any advice??
Old 09-25-2006, 04:17 PM

Default RE: Calling

How is your basic obediance? Is your dog solid when it comes to heal, sit , stay and come? Try using a check cord to remind him to stay and work on it daily...try it in the house first, all my training starts in the house, when they aresolid there then move to the yard. If your dog is solid on obediance and I mean solid then he should mind you at all times regaurdless of how close he is in proximity. If not, take a few steps back and get him solid on stay...it takes time but it is worth every minute you will spend.