Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Regional Forums > South
 New to hunting >

New to hunting

Community
South VA, KY, AR, TN, OK, TX, LA, MS, AL, FL, NC, SC, GA

New to hunting

Old 08-10-2004, 04:41 PM

Default New to hunting

I am new to hunting as well as this forum. I'm 22 years old, i've grown up around guns, and have a pretty good collection of my own. I have never been hunting and have been wanting to go for some time now ( my main thing is saltwater fishing and diving). I live in central Florida on the west coast. My dad and I would like to go this coming season for deer, hog, and turkey. Any information would be great. I did read old posts about how to wash and store hunting clothes. We will most likely get a guide, since neither of us know how to dress one if we were lucky enough to get a shot.
Old 08-10-2004, 07:01 PM

Default RE: New to hunting

Welcome to the forum, as I'm new to this site as well. This is a very good spot to start .You can learn a lot by reading old posts or just asking whats on your mind. As far as finding a spot to hunt you could probably hang around the local gun store or sporting goods store and ask around there. There might be clubs or something . As far as hunting on your own, you could get a how to video or your local processor might be able to help you out as far as field dressing. I was in the same boat years ago, but I still hunt on some public lands. Just make time to find an area and scout or have someone help you find a good spot, but let them explain why thats a good spot. I'm a big fan of watching hunting dvd's it'll get you pumped up as well as educated.Try to find out who offers a hunters ed class and take it. It might even be required.
Just get out there and enjoy what the good lord gave us , and if you don't harvest anything this time there is always next time. If you don't take anything but knowledge out of the woods pass it on to someone who wants to learn! Have fun and a safe hunting season BuckDiesel