Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

Beginner Predator Hunter

Old 08-21-2018, 09:44 AM
Spike

Default Beginner Predator Hunter

Hey guys, I’m a freshman in college and have a little hunting experience but not much. I am interested in predator hunting. What gear such as gun, game call, or anything else would I need to get? I am on a budget so I don’t want to break the bank on buying this stuff. If some experienced hunters could help me out I’d really appreciate it!
Old 08-21-2018, 05:42 PM
Nontypical Buck

What have you hunted and what hunting gear do you already have?
Old 08-21-2018, 06:35 PM
Nontypical Buck

Good camo, 4 or 5 handcalls of specific types, and a well built AR is all I really need.
Old 08-21-2018, 08:00 PM
Spike

Default Contact me

Hey,
congratulations on your new adventure. I’ve been in similar shoes. It’s not as simple as a one sentence answer and I would be more than willing to help you. You and anyone else contacted through email or my instagram is ridge_grunt. Best of luck to you.
Old 08-22-2018, 09:05 AM
Spike

Originally Posted by elkman30
What have you hunted and what hunting gear do you already have?
I’ve hunted deer, turkey, water fowl a few times each and I’ve run a small trap line. I have good camo. I was wondering more specifically what gun and calls.
Old 08-22-2018, 10:55 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Read these:

Read these in our Predator Hunting Tactics and Reference Section:

Predator Hunting Essentials

Predator Calling Plan of Attack

Call sounds for year 'round

Handcalls vs. Electronic

Calling different Predator Species

Scouting and Set Design

Spend some time reading those topics, and others in our Sub-forum here. You’ll come up with more specific questions for which we’ll be able to give more specific answers.

Last edited by Nomercy448; 08-22-2018 at 10:59 AM.
Old 08-22-2018, 03:52 PM
Spike