Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

Rabbit Hunting Strategy??

Old 02-03-2014, 07:01 PM
Spike

Default Rabbit Hunting Strategy??

I'm new to rabbit hunting and hunting in general. I've had 4 unsuccessful rabbit hunts and want to bag one of those suckers in the worst way. I go up by myself or with one friend and just stomp around in the brush trying to flush a rabbit out, I don't have a dog and don't have the time to train one even though I know how helpful they can be.

I have about a thousand acres in upstate NY where I'll be doing all my hunting. Once you enter the land there is a main trail surrounded by heavy woods. About a hundred yards to the left of the main trail there are 5 dilapidated cabins spread out about 50 yards from each other. The cabins are on flat land about 20 yards in front of a small, but very steep mountain that is overpopulated with coyotes. There are a good amount of briar patches around the cabins. To the right of the main trail is about 5-600 yards of heavily wooded areas that leads to an open field covered in brush piles that leads to a small stream and pond. The rest of the land is marshy areas that leads to a small lake. When I've gone out I've focused on the brushy field. I saw plenty of tracks, but wasn't able to flush any rabbits out (there's also plenty of coyote tracks in that area)

So my question is where am I most likely to find rabbit given the lay of the land, how would you guys go about flushing them out, what weather conditions will you guys hunt in or decide not to bother in, will I only have any luck at dusk or dawn, etc.
Old 02-04-2014, 08:01 AM
Spike

Thinking of going out for a rabbit hunt today. Will be getting about a foot of snow starting at midnight today. Will the rabbits be out or do they burrow down hours before a storm.
Old 02-05-2014, 05:42 PM
Spike

Heisman,