Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

Scent controll for coyote snares

Old 12-21-2011, 05:21 AM
j76
Typical Buck

Default Scent controll for coyote snares

Think i've got all i need to try snaring some yotes. My biggest concern at this point is scent controll. I know this is gonna be a big part of it. Since i'm brand new to this i'm handling the snares quite a bit in order to get a system down for getting them set. I know this isn't a good thing, plus i'm a smoker so i know i've got them all stunk up. Right now my plan is to put all i need for a set together, snare, support wire, anchor, etc, in a coil, then maybe boil it in some kind of solution? Followed by putting each one in its own gallon ziplock bag until i set it?
What do you guys do? I read something about boiling it in a baking soda solution to take the shine of a new snare, but also figured this would help with scent elimination. Also any tips or tricks for scent controll while setting them would be appriciated. Thanks!
Old 12-21-2011, 06:50 AM
Nontypical Buck

yeah, we use bakin soda...as far as scent, nothing works better than smoke..i believe all animals are used to the smoke scent, as fire happens everywhere. we used bakin soda to take the sheen off, and then smoked cigarettes to go put them up....had a yote, we are tryin fer pigs, the next day. a good trail under a fence werks great, and easy to make the figure to hold the snare from the bottom barb wire of th fence, tied to a tree or a post.
Old 12-22-2011, 06:57 PM
Spike

I just started trapping about 2 weeks ago rubber boots and glove to cover human scent is the most important i have trapped 1 yote,1bobcat,1 grey fox the first week and 3 coons but human scent has to be covered
Old 12-22-2011, 07:52 PM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by shiloh4746