Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

Coyote hunting tips

Old 11-16-2010, 05:04 AM
Fork Horn

Default Coyote hunting tips

I've never done this before, but I want to hunt coyote in the summer for a number of reasons:

1- It's not cold; I hate the cold and only put up with it for deer hunting and competitive shooting.

2- It gets me out hunting when it isn't deer season.

3- It's fun.

What pointers do you have? Is scent control as important as when deer hunting?
Old 11-16-2010, 05:47 AM
Nontypical Buck

Consider that I am really only a marginal coyote hunter but I can offer this much advise. You'll get out of it what you paid for it.

1. In CO the best coyote hunting for me has been from Nov to the end of March.

2. Avoid big game hunting areas during big game seasons.

3. Find a mentor or friend who has some experiense.

4. I would suggest starting out with simple mouth calls like rabbit in distress.

5. If you are looking for nice pelts summer is a poor time to go.

6. I have only hunted coyotes in the summer at night, private land, with lights over bait.

7. Best places in CO to hunt coyotes for me has been the eastern half, but I know the eastern half much better.
Old 11-16-2010, 11:21 AM
Fork Horn