Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

I'm new to hunting and need advice

Old 07-05-2009, 07:47 AM

Default I'm new to hunting and need advice

im new to hunting and have been looking into it for a while. I don't have a licence yet so getting my licence will obviously be my first step, but after that what kind of equipment would i need for small game hunting? What kind of rifle is ideal for small game? And since i am new would small game hunting be right for me or should i start off with something else. I dont have a huge truck to put huge game in so im not looking into big game. HELP PLEASE!

Old 07-05-2009, 08:26 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: I'm new to hunting and need advice

Actually your first step will be completing a hunter safety course, and then you can get your hunting license for which ever game you so choose to pursue.
And a rifle may or may not be the best choice, depending on which game and how you choose to pursue them. A 20 or 12 gauge shotgun may serve you better than a 22 rimfire rifle.
You may learn more about your areas game and the best methods of hunting them from the hunter safety course. SO don't rush on purchasing any gun, until you have a better idea of what game is in your area to hunt, and what game you decide to hunt.
Contact your local wildlife department to find out more on when and where the hunter safety courses are available. Good luck!
Old 07-05-2009, 10:05 AM
Nontypical Buck

+1 Howler.Small game (squirrels and rabbits)is really the best way to start off hunting.The advantage of a shotgun is you can use it for about anything,if you wanted to step up to larger game.Since your new to hunting,a 12 gauge shotgun will probably your best bet.A 12 gauge with a set of choke tubes,is a good all purpose gun.
Old 07-05-2009, 01:23 PM