Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

looking to buy first varmint gun

Old 07-18-2007, 12:45 PM

Default looking to buy first varmint gun

Im fairly new to centerfire rifles. Im going to be purchasing my first rifle fairly soon. I have my selection down to 2 choices. These choices were decided on a few things obviously feel, brand quality, and for me most importantly Cost. The two im looking at are the Savage 11series with a 3x9 scope .223 with accutriger for $450, and the Remington 700 SPS varmint .223 with a 4x12 scope for $550. This gun will be used primarly for plinking, yotes, and ground hog. Has anyone had either of these rifles, and what are you thoughts.

Old 07-18-2007, 01:01 PM

Default RE: looking to buy first varmint gun

Personally, I would get the Savage. Some people don't like the Accutrigger, but I think most of those guys have great triggers on their guns that don't have the lawyer bar on them. But, for most of us, the accutrigger is fantastic.

I have a 243 Savage with the Simmons 3-9 and the scope really is not bad. I bought a Simmons scope at Walmart that was the same model only 4-12. That thing is JUNK. Eye relief and parallax are horrible and I consider it absolutely useless.

I am not sure, but I think the scope on the Remington is probably a Bushnell.

I think it is all in your preference. They are both very good guns, especially for the money. I doubt there will be any difference in the accuracy. I would take the Accutrigger and the extra $100 any day of the week. You can take that $100 and stick it in your piggy bank to start saving up for a good scope, or just buy some ammo.
Old 07-18-2007, 01:18 PM

great info. Do you think that having the heavy varmint barrel helps much in any way? How do you like your savage? Which model is it?

Old 07-18-2007, 04:28 PM
Fork Horn