Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

.22 LR VS. Yote?

Old 03-23-2007, 08:16 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default .22 LR VS. Yote?

Just a quick question kids. I live in the burbs and have yotes in the backyard every day. I have had them in thecross hairs of a.308 and have looked down the barrel of a 12g with an xtra full turkey choke but am just to concerned about the noise to pop them.
I am hoping to get the thumbs up from you folks on whether or not a 50yard lung shot /w a .22 is reasonable. ( I want the skull ). up or down?
Old 03-23-2007, 10:06 AM

Default RE: .22 LR VS. Yote?

I'm not a yote pro but I wouldn't recommend anything but a head shot on 'em with a 22. I have some pretty close neighbors and pop off shots with my 12g all the time in my backyard at rabbits and nobody cares. Just ask them. Chances are if they have kids they could be easily convinced to let you kill a "wild predator that's roamin the neighborhood."
Old 03-23-2007, 11:02 AM

The range is really close and I'm assuming you would have a good rest. I have to agree with the head shot and even a good neck shot will put them down. A lung shot will result in the coyote running off. He will eventually die but a little too slowly for a humane kill. Use something hot like a CCI Mini Mag or even a CCI Stinger and don't pull the trigger unless you have a "perfect" head shot on a motionless coyote. In the back yard, OK but don't hunt with a .22 LR.
Old 03-23-2007, 12:20 PM

wack him with a cci stinger behind the shulder and he's going to be in a bad way. those things will take the head off a rabbit so theyed kill a yote.
Old 03-23-2007, 04:13 PM
Nontypical Buck

Yip,a s was already statedif you shoot them broadside in the lungs, they will run like ya never touched them BUT they will die with no blood trail. If you want to achor them with a 22 lr, head shots only!
Old 03-23-2007, 06:28 PM