Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Scopes and Sights
Opinions on the Nikon Monarch 4-16x42, MilDot >

Opinions on the Nikon Monarch 4-16x42, MilDot

Community
Scopes and Sights Discuss firearm scopes, sights and related accessories here.

Opinions on the Nikon Monarch 4-16x42, MilDot

Old 01-27-2010, 05:24 PM
Spike

Default Opinions on the Nikon Monarch 4-16x42, MilDot

I am new to rifles, been shooting handguns for some time now, and I'd like to get everyones opinion on the above listed scope. It will be going on a .308 rifle which will primarily be used at the range between 100-600 yds. I would eventually like to move up to 1000yds as my skill level increases (hopefully).
It's likely that I will be doing some hunting with this rifle from time to time also, therefore a variable power scope is what I'm leaning towards.

I can have this scope for $350.00 shipped. I have searched everywhere online (countless articles and forums) trying to find the best scope to suit my needs for under $400.
If you do not have any experience with this scope feel free to suggest another brand, model, magnification within the budget. Anything you feel is the best bang for my buck will be greatly appreciated.
Old 01-27-2010, 06:41 PM
Spike

A Nikon Monarch is a good scope. I would lean towards a BDC over a Mildot. Using a mildot for ranging is complicated. Outside of a military/defense application where you don't want the signature of an laser rangefinder, there's really not much use. Also, the dots on a mildot will be relatively large covering 1 yard at 1000 yards. Finally, at 1,000 yards, if your budget can stand to go with a 50mm objective I think you'll find it worth the extra although the 42mm should be adequate.

Also in that price range you can get a Sightron SII series scope.
Old 01-27-2010, 08:22 PM
Giant Nontypical

I use Burris scopes (signature select line), but I use Nikon Monarch's for my binos.