Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

Reloading unfired brass

Old 03-20-2017, 04:08 PM
  #11  
Boone & Crockett
 
bronko22000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 12,752
Default

Well as long as its factory ammo, give winchester a call and have the lot number handy. They should replace it for you or at least refund your money. Big green did it for me for a lot of 17 HMR ammo that had contaminated propellant and the bullets were getting lodged in the barrel. They sent me a check to cover the replacement cost.
bronko22000 is offline  
Old 03-20-2017, 06:59 PM
  #12  
Typical Buck
 
TN Lone Wolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Martin, TN
Posts: 854
Default

It's strange that factory ammo isn't chambering correctly. I'd do what muzzlestuffer suggested.
TN Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 03-21-2017, 02:46 AM
  #13  
Nontypical Buck
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pa
Posts: 4,647
Default

I bought a digital grain scale and I'm gonna take 3 bad rounds pull bullets and weigh each charge then I'm gonna full length resize them add charge back to case then re seat bullet back to factory length... then test fit to see if it chambers
Mr. Longbeard is offline  
Old 03-21-2017, 04:13 AM
  #14  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: gilbert az
Posts: 1,168
Default

Originally Posted by Mr. Longbeard
I bought a digital grain scale and I'm gonna take 3 bad rounds pull bullets and weigh each charge then I'm gonna full length resize them add charge back to case then re seat bullet back to factory length... then test fit to see if it chambers
One more thing to try is take a black magic marker and make the entire case and bullet black then run into chamber until resistance is felt pull out round look for wear marks
muzzlestuffer is offline  
Old 03-26-2017, 10:02 AM
  #15  
Typical Buck
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Indiana county, Pa
Posts: 681
Default

if the brass is new and unfired you might want to check the length to see of the neck is too long. might need trimmed to the right length before loading and crimping.
Mr. Slim is offline  
Old 03-31-2017, 06:02 AM
  #16  
Boone & Crockett
 
bronko22000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 12,752
Default

Seriously I would give Winchester a call and see it there was a problem with that lot of ammo.
But out of curiosity and it may sound dumb, but did you try any other ammo? I can tell by your posts that you do reload. But the last time you fired your rifle did you pick up the spent brass? Maybe you shot at an animal and forgot or lost the spent casing. I could be that the case ruptured and there is a small piece lodged in the chamber. Seems very remote. But stranger things have happened.
bronko22000 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.