Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

270 and h4831

Old 03-26-2016, 12:27 AM
Spike

Default 270 and h4831

Guys I'm trying to find a load for the 270 win, I'm using 130 grain hornady sst and h4831, it's my first time loading them, the bullet heads have cannelures so I've set the seating depth around this as a guide but the bullets are still a compressed load even going with 56gr of powder. Does anybody have any loads for this calibre powder and bullet that isn't a compressed load? And does anyone have quickload that could help me out? Thanks
Old 03-26-2016, 01:21 AM
Fork Horn

I'll look at my load data when I get home I haven't shot 130's in a long time. What twist is your rifle? I load off the lands now, but I am fairly certain my older stuff is to factory spec. I would still work up to these loads as powders change by lot.
Old 03-26-2016, 01:39 AM
Typical Buck

Set your seating depth based on the lands and magazine and forget about the cannelure. Very likely you're going to be at or near a compressed load with that combo regardless of what you do. If you work up and find an accurate load that gives the speed you seek, I wouldn't worry about whether it was compressed or not.
Old 03-26-2016, 01:49 AM
Spike

Hi mate that would be good. I don't know the twist rate of the rifle yet it's a sako a3, I've not got a depth guage so can't get the measurement off the lands so dont know how far out I can seat the bullets I was just going to start in between Sammi spec min and max
Old 03-26-2016, 02:38 AM
Nontypical Buck