Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
 new to reload, help >

new to reload, help

Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

new to reload, help

Old 10-16-2003, 08:20 AM

Default new to reload, help

hello all,

I am new to reloading and also to this site. I wonder if I could get some advice about my reloading.

I have a Bolt action, .300 Win Mag rifle. It has a 1917 Enfield(Remington) action that was " sporterized" and a new barrel and stock applied. 2.5-10 scope.

I started with 200 grain Sierra Game King bullets, frontier brass, federal large mag rifle primers and IMR 4350 powder.

First Load was 62 Grains of powder, and an OAL of 3.370" (no bullet crimp)
I did all of this because of several recommendations from " the boys" at the general store. (I realize this may be all BS)

Anyway.....I got three groups of 5 each at an average of 2 and a half inches. Now, cheap factory loads with 150 grain and 180 grain bullets gives me groups of just over an inch.

Please, what would you suggest? I just loaded more with 64 grains of IMR 4350, but haven' t had the chance to fire them yet.
Old 10-16-2003, 10:17 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: new to reload, help

Mainhunt, that' s an incredible action...my 1917 is a winchester and I converted it to .375 H&H...It' ll certainly be adequate for the .300 Win Mag. I believe the Remingtons are supposed to be slightly better actions.

Prior to proceeding you need to be assured that the barrel is free floating and that the action is properly bedded. (this means accruglas to me) If it' s not you' ll drive yourself up a wall trying to make it shoot. Since factory loads shoot fine it' s possible this has already been done.

After that' s done I suggest a different powder....I' m going to suggest RL22, RL25 or H-4831SC....RL22 is my pick for the .300....